NPLQ – Become a Lifeguard today!

The NPLQ is the most awarded lifeguard qualification in the UK and Ireland and is also internationally recognised. More than 40,000 pool lifeguards qualify with a RLSS UK National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ) every year, and there are currently more than 80,000 pool lifeguards qualified in the NPLQ – 95% of all UK pool lifeguards!

RLSS UK is regulated by Ofqual, Qualifications Wales and CCEA in Northern Ireland.



Location: LeisureWorld Bishopstown

August Course

Dates: 5th – 9th August 2024

Time: 9am – 6pm

Assessment Date: 10th August 10am – 6pm

Price: €500

Click here to book now

WHO IS THIS COURSE FOR?                   

Anyone who is 16-years-of-age or older at the time of taking the National Pool Lifeguard Qualification (NPLQ) final assessment and able to:

  • Jump or dive into deep water
  • Swim 50 metres in less than 60 seconds
  • Swim 100 metres continuously on front and back
  • In deep water tread water for 30 seconds
  • Surface dive to the floor of the pool
  • Climb out of a pool unaided without using a ladder or steps (where the pool design permits)

Lifeguarding doesn’t discriminate against age, religion, race, gender identity, socio-economic status or sexual orientation. Lifeguards are representative of wider society and the lifeguard workplace is welcoming and inclusive. To perform lifeguard duties, candidates must be physically fit, have good vision, good hearing and be mentally alert. All candidates must present suitable identification to the Trainer and Assessor.


The NPLQ course requires a minimum of 36 hours of training and 100% attendance. The NPLQ covers all elements of Pool Rescue Techniques, Lifeguarding Theory, First Aid and CPR. The course includes swimming to set times, lifting casualties and diving to the deepest part of the swimming pool. Upon completion of training, the NPLQ is assessed by an independent assessor.

The assessment will include multiple-choice question papers, practical demonstrations of water rescue skills, CPR and First Aid.

Upon qualifying, the NPLQ certificate is valid for two years from the date of successful completion.